top of page

2023 MKM Third-Year Ball State CAP Design Competition Award Winners

Since 1993, MKM architecture + design (MKM) has facilitated a scholarship for the Ball State College of Architecture and Planning. An endowment was established specifically for these architecture students, funding an annual design competition for those in their third-year. More than $4,000 in prize money is awarded to selected projects. The MKM Steel Competition, which was based off the ACSA National Steel Competition, allowed 61 Ball State College of Architecture and Planning students to choose one of three sites on the BSU campus. This year's challenge was to design “A Place for the Spirit” for their chosen site, welcoming to all, where members of the campus community and visitors can learn about and express spirituality. Program spaces include places for worship, meditation, learning, and fellowship. Steel is the primary material.

Twenty-two students made the finalist short list and seven of those students were recognized with an award, with the top award being The Menze Prize. This award was created in 2017 to honor Ronald Menze, one of the founding Principals of MKM and a recipient of the Alumni Award of Outstanding Achievement from Ball State’s College of Architecture and Planning.


Lucas Brown, AIA, Brownsmith Studios, Bloomington, IN

Sara Codarin, PhD, Lawrence Technological University, Southfield, MI

Dodd Kattman, AIA, MKM architecture + design, Fort Wayne, IN

Clete Kunce, AIA, ONE 10 STUDIO, Indianapolis, IN

Steve Zabel, FAIA, MD+A, Indianapolis, IN


Menze Prize Winner

Matthew Coffee, "The Canopy"


Merit Award

Nathan Owens "Natural Sanctum"


Merit Award

Alec Meister "Spiritually Centered"


Honorable Mentions

Kyler Williams

Nathan Ritz

Kaylynne Fernandes

Emma Wynn

Finalist Short List (no award recognition)

Nash Miller

Joshua Hoff

Adebisi Igbasanmi

Dylan McCullum

Ethan Hoover

Cade Iles

Benjamin Rutledge

Jashawn Keys

Graham Longnnaker

Ainsley Ludema

Becca Northey

Braeden Noll

Kevin Shelly

John Majekodunmi

Brenna Campbell

bottom of page